Memberlist
Calendar
Search
Today's Posts  
Pets and Wildlife Forum
Register
Go Back   Pets and Wildlife Forum > Introductions and News > EMERGENCIES ONLY!

EMERGENCIES ONLY! Please state your emergency with every details possible and somebody will assist you as soon as possible.

Old 05-31-2009, 09:38 AM

Default Orphaned Kitten, Dying I think

You probably recognize my screen name from last week with the baby raccoon.. We were given 2 orphaned kittens the day before we found a rehabber for the raccoon. The emergency is this: they are 4 days old and one of them hasn't gone poop at all. The other goes every day, at least. The one who is constipateds' abdomen appears quite swollen (although I've no experience with newborn kittens, just comparing her to the other).
Miss Dollitle, could you come to the rescue again? I will take her to the vet if she survives the day, tomorrow it will be open, but right now nothing is open. (although I am going to check further for emergency vets). Neither one are eating much at all, maybe 3ml's at a time, including what drips out of their mouths. I can't believe the coincidence that we would go from never having an orphaned animal to becoming full-time orphan raisers. I don't think I'm going to be able to save these babies, though, they are just too tiny, I'm too afraid of hurting them.. wish I could just pass them to someone else, as selfish as that sounds, but no one I know would take them.
Thanks..
Old 05-31-2009, 09:59 AM
Administrator

Default Re: Orphaned Kitten, Dying I think

You got the vibes, I tell ya! lol

Do you know if the kittens got to suckle off the mother at least once? That would make all the difference. If they haven't, they didn't get the colostrum which is what kinda jump-starts their immune system.

Don't worry about the pooping...just about every kitten I get starts to poop on the 3rd or 4th day. As long as they pee ok, I wouldn't worry about it yet.