Today's Posts  
Pets and Wildlife Forum
Register
Go Back   Pets and Wildlife Forum > Wildlife > Squirrels

Squirrels Talk about squirrels.

Old 04-14-2008, 12:59 AM

Default squirrel as a pet ???

Hi,
I just joined your group here and maybe someone out there will be able to help me out.

For the last 4 years I've been raising orphaned squirrels, working under the woman in our town who is the wildlife rehabilitater for this area. I've been doing the hand feeding, weaning, acclimating them to the outdoors in a outdoor pen, and then releasing them back into the wild. I mention all this so you readers understand I'm not a squirrel novice and I have never considered keeping any squirrel as a pet.

Currently one of the babies I'm raising only has one eye and the rehabilitater does not feel he will be able to be released. So now I am contemplating keeping this little guy but I have a lot of reservations. I am very much aware of the commitment that would be involved and the possible problems I could run into.

Regarding squirrels as pets, I have read both pro's and con's on the internet and I still haven't been able to make up my mind. I would really appreciate any feed back that would help me make a decision. I would especially like to hear from someone who has kept a squirrel as a "pet" or knows anyone who has. Any feedback and opinions will be helpful.
Thanks
Old 04-14-2008, 09:26 AM

Default Re: squirrel as a pet ???

Hi Leslie,

I have had three fox squirrels as pets.The one we currently have is blind in one eye. For the right people they do make great pets. Since you work with squirrels you would know their tendency to chew on anything they think looks chewable, such as wooden furniture,window sills, ect. That and the fact they use you as trees, which with their sharp claws can really hurt,are the biggest drawbacks I can think of.
In my opinion they are great pets. They don't require anything more than any other pet, excercise, good diet, and love.