Memberlist
Calendar
Search
Today's Posts  
Pets and Wildlife Forum
Register
Go Back   Pets and Wildlife Forum > Introductions and News > EMERGENCIES ONLY!

EMERGENCIES ONLY! Please state your emergency with every details possible and somebody will assist you as soon as possible.

Old 08-24-2008, 06:23 AM

Default Baby Kitten...

Hello,

I live in a third world country and anything related to the well-being of animals is hard to come by. Last night I found a baby kitten in a towel beside a dumpster. I waited for its (I have no idea what sex it is, I'm new to this stuff) mother to return for a few hours, but she never did. For this reason and becuase it was wrapped in a towel, I assumed it was either left there for dead by some douchebag or its mother had died. I called around and finally found a vet. He refused to sell me babycat milk that night and told me to feed it heavily diluted, skimmed milk until he opens the next morning. I did so last night and so far it seems OK.

Anyways, I went to the vet this morning and bought me some babycat milk. It is powder. Called Royal Canin Babycat milk 300g. Unfortunately, the feeding instructions are missing from the box. If anyone can send me what the powder to water ratio is with whatever important details I need to know that would be GREAT. The vet doesn't know, and I really haven't an idea who to ask. I'm going to sort of make up my own solution until someone helps me out!!! She is pretty nasty looking right now (covered in poo) and I would love to give her a bath, but I'm afraid she isn't ready for one.

Also, I study abroad in Canada (I come to the Middle East to visit family). If it is, say, 6 days old, and I am flying back in 10 days, will it be safe to bring her with me? Do they allow tiny animals as carry on these days so I can feed her? Is there another way to sort of 'ship' her safely?

Thanks a bunch,
Ahmad
Old 08-24-2008, 09:19 AM
Administrator

Default Re: Baby Kitten...